St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church has served the community of Warren, Illinois and southern Wisconsin for the past 102 years.
The first congregation began in 1858, when a Lutheran Pastor met with a group of German immigrants to form a church. Plans for building a church soon led to construction, and by June 1858 the corner stone was laid. Pastors from Northern Illinois Synod, plus many other guests, were present for the celebration of this special event.
In 1860, M.M. Yeakle persuaded his fellow Lutherans to continue building the stone church. Unfortunately, by the fall of 1862, the funds ran out and they were forced to abandon the project. It was vacant until 1879 when H.V. Brown acquired the building by the purchase of the tax deed, and used it as a tobacco storehouse.
In 1900 a few Lutheran families, with the help of some Warren business men, raised the necessary money to restore the old stone church on the west end of town. The builders and families worked non-stop to complete the church, so the Lutherans congregation was officially organized in the summer of 1900 by Pastor J. Dachsteiner. On October 21, 1900 , the newly repaired and decorated church was dedicated. Services were held in German and English with about 250-300 people attending the afternoon services.
Two years later, a combined parsonage and school was built and dedicated. The following year a new bell belfry, and organ were dedicated. Finally the German Lutherans were able to realize their dreams of having a place to worship.
100 years have passed since the dedication of St. Paul's. As we celebrate our centennial in the year 2000, we reflect upon the past, our roots, and our heritage. We are thankful for the great sacrifices and contributions made by the founders and their pastors. We are also thankful for the generations of leadership and endeavors that helped build the congregation we enjoy today. We must accept the challenges of an ever changing world and continue the mission of our church and lead us into the 21st century and beyond!
Past to Present
Pastor John H. Schlichting Founder -- 1896-1898
Pastor A. J. Klindworth 1898-1899
Pastor J. Dachsteiner 1899-1902
Pastor Richard A. Salzwedel 1902-1906
Pastor David Zeilsdorf 1906-1911
Pastor J. Wendel 1910-1911
Pastor O. Kubitz Interim 1911
Pastor J. Buth 1911-1915
Pastor August Kohlhoff 1915-1923
Pastor Emil O. Schultz 1923-1924
Pastor Otto Moke 1924-1928
Pastor Eugene Ahl 1929-1934
Pastor Otto H. Kreiter 1934-1942
Pastor Karl F. Trost 1943-1948
Pastor Oswald G. Mall 1948-1960
Pastor Jerome S. Peterson 1961-1965
Pastor Jack F. Maxim 1965-1969
Pastor Orville C. Mitchell 1969-1972
Pastor James Schwartz Interim 1972
Pastor Craig A. Wagner 1972-1976
Pastor Kenneth A. Halstead 1976-1979
Pastor Peter Kjeseth Interim 1979
Pastor Steven D. Berke 1979-1984
Pastor Wlliam Wiederanders 1984-1987
Pastor Bryan Robertson 1988-1993
Pastor George Nelson Interim 1993
Pastor Tina S. Koenig 1993-1996
Pastor Art Stees Interim 1996-1997
Pastor Carole Andres 1997-2000
Intern Pastor Laura Koppenhoefer 2001-2002
Intern Pastor Pat Esker 2002-2003